IMG_1423
Sundial Arts and Urban Homestead Resource Center is a small city farm in beautiful Ashland Oregon. Ashland is a small progressive college town with an active Shakespeare festival, hot springs, and the Mt. Ashland ski area. My urban homestead is located on the South end of Ashland near the college, a block from the nearest bus stop, and walking/biking distance to downtown. Ashland also offers beautiful public parks and the Southern Oregon area is ripe with wild places for hiking and home to three beautiful rivers, the Rogue, the Illinois and the Smith River. The Rogue Valley also produces one of the largest amounts of organic open-pollinated vegetable seeds in America and is home to many organic small farms and a rich small farm and festival culture.

The sunroom accommodations include a double size futon sleeper sofa and a futon chair suitably sized for a child to sleep on. A small bookshelf with children’s books and toys are also provided. Bathrooms are shared with the main house and include a bathtub and shower. The sunroom is not insulated and temperatures fluctuate throughout the season. For this reason farm stays are only available March-October. Heaters and an air conditioner are available for your comfort. Potable water is provided in the room with a draining unplumbed sink. There will be an outdoor kitchen available and a BBQ in addition to use of the inside kitchen. Laundry machines are available in the house. No dogs please. Length of stays and exchange rates are negotiable. Please email me at sunnyjoyfarm@gmail.com to inquire about farm stay accommodations. 

I am raising angora rabbits, chickens and when able to, offer a neighborhood fruit and vegetable CSA. My urban homestead also hosts gardening education, art classes, children’s summer camps and activist meet ups. In addition, I am a screen printer and seamstress with producing organic apparel which I sell online and at outdoor artisan markets.

I am seeking help March-October with farm work such as composting, animal care, planting, harvesting, mowing, weeding, small repairs, irrigation and food preserving as well as occasional help with vending outdoor markets and other retail clothing tasks. Skills in any of these areas are beneficial, but it isn’t necessary to be able to do everything. I ask for 4 hours of work per day and offer 2 meals and a good sized fully furnished sunroom overlooking the garden. I will share my 1200 sq ft home and sunny kitchen and ask that you prepare some of your own meals with food I provide.

I am a registered host at HelpX.net. Check out my listing here:
http://www.helpx.net/host.asp?hostid=56669